Skip to content

Chagrin

November 23, 2009

Shows you just how naive I am that when I heard there was to be a European Union  president I did a little Googling to find out how to put my name forward. After all, I’ve years of experience of dealing with difficult people – both professionals and clients and I thought that might be useful in the job. Anyway, nothing venture nothing gain so why not put my name of the ballot paper if I could – I reasoned. Imagine my shock to learn that some guy got the job just because of who he knew.  no election, no applications, no interviews, no equal ops – just; ‘Herman, old boy the job’s yours – congrats’.

Much the same goes for the House of Lords. I’ve long thought I would be very happy lolling on red leather benches just rising occasionally to make a few profound remarks. I just don’t understand why I’ve never been asked; perhaps the invite went astray in the post.

Baron Brick of Wall would sound really good don’t you think?

 

UPDATE: On the other hand I might find it just too nauseating to join the ranks of the great, self-satisfied and corrupt. If I did I would have to take part in hiding and justifying criminal behavior by other members of the club as the Chilcot Inquiry stooges are doing and as is so accurately dissected by Craig Murray.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2009 9:58 am

    Dear Baron

    You have my vote.

    Kind regards,

    Wilt

Leave a Reply

